Back to the blog!

OK I admit I’m a bad blogger!

Haven’t touched this for about twelve months again.

Now it’s not that I don’t enjoy writing, in fact I really enjoy it. But fitting blogging in around other work/family commitments is hard.

So you may ask, what am I doing back here after my long leave of absence? Well actually I thought it would be useful to capture my thoughts around a MOOC I’ve recently signed up for. What’s a MOOC I hear you ask? A MOOC is a Massive Open Online Course – and many think this is how higher education may be delivered in the future. The course is hosted by FutureLearn, a private company owned by (my old friend) The Open University and at the moment we are all part of one big experiment, with participants (students) encouraged to feed back and help shape future learning via MOOCs.

The course I’ve signed up for is Web Science and the course aims to explore how the web is changing the world. This six week course is run by the University of Southampton and now for the best bit – it’s FREE!

So… although I’m just as busy as ever, more so in fact, I just couldn’t resist. Nothing to lose: no monies to pay upfront and you can work on the modules at your own pace – even skip them if need be. Obviously we are encouraged to complete as much as we can, join discussions, view lectures, contribute ideas, thoughts etc – but you don’t have to.

I’m just working my way through week 1, so will let you know how I get on once I’ve completed the ‘check your understanding quiz’!

Back soon (promise!)

Leave a Reply

